Back to the top

Beach House

Beach House

The forthcoming Beach House album Once Twice Melody will be released in its entirety in February.

Expect an 18 track record in 4 distinct chapters.

Chapter 1 includes the exquisite title track.

Chapter 2 the new song “Runaway”.

(Use SEARCH for more Beach House postings.)

“Once Twice Melody”


Beach House

Just a couple of months ago Beach House gave us the album Depression Cherry.

Now they have released Thank Your Lucky Stars, a new album from the same recording sessions.

The darker songs were more appropriate for their own album, thus the 2nd record.

“Sparks” from Depression Cherry

“Elegy to the Void” from Thank Your Lucky Stars

Beach House

Beach House, the Baltimore duo of Alex Scally and French-born Victoria Legrand, release their 4th album in May.

“Norway” from 2010’s Teen Dream remains as one of the best songs from the last decade.

They continue with their richly beautiful music with the LP Bloom as heard on the first single “Myth”.


Air, the French electronic duo, has just released La Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip to the Moon).

The title is from a silent black & white film from 1902. Directed by Georges Méliès, La Voyage Dans La Lune is considered to be the first science fiction film.

In 1993 a hand-coloured, badly decomposed version of the film was discovered and only last year was fully restored.

Air was asked to compose a soundtrack for this 16 minute film.

Inspired by the experience Air gives us an album of the same name.

“Seven Stars” is from the album and features the vocals of Victoria Legrand from Beach House.

Watch an excerpt from the film here.


The world of music is cyclical and goes into hiatus a few weeks before Christmas and into the new year. Slowly new music is released in January and gains momentum later in the winter flowing into the spring.

Bands that enthralled me last year included Arcade Fire, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Avi Buffalo, Badly Drawn Boy, Beach House, Belle & Sebastian, Best Coast, Blonde Redhead, Delorean, The Drums, Dum Dum Girls, Eminem, Girl Talk, Glasser, Gorillaz, Janelle Monáe, Joanna Newsom, Karen Elson, Laura Marling, Lykke Li, Matt & Kim, Mumford & Sons, The National, No Age, Perfume Genius, Phoenix, School of Seven Bells, She & Him, Shearwater, Sleigh Bells, Stars, Titus Andronicus and Warpaint.

And The xx continued to give me great pleasure.

Here you will hear the best new music as it becomes available.

Next week we will have an exclusive Cure video.

Happy New Year indeed.

Oedipus Podcast #7: Spring Rains

William Fitzsimmons-“I Don’t Feel It Anymore” featuring Brooke Fraser
Nedry-“Apples & Pears”
Infant Sorrow-“Just Say Yes”
The Radio Dept.-“Heaven’s on Fire”
Hot Hot Heat-“21@12”
New Politics-“Yeah, Yeah, Yeah”
Fanfarlo-“Harold T. Wilkins”
Foals-“The Orient”
Beach House-“Zebra”

[jwplayer mediaid=”4184″]

© Copyright Oedipus 2021 | Sponsor The Oedipus Project | Designed by DI-WHY