Back to the top


The Avalanches

The Avalanches is an Australian electronic group that now functions as the duo of Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi.

They take their time recording having only produced 3 albums since their formation in 1997.

The current disc, We Will Always Love You, includes some well-known guests such as Perry Farrell, Mick Jones, Blood Orange, Tricky, Jamie xx, Kurt Vile, Karen O, MGMT and Johnny Marr, the last two on the song “The Divine Chord”.

“The Divine Chord” featuring MGMT and Johnny Marr


Hard to believe that it’s been 10 years since MGMT rocked our world with Oracular Spectacular.

Fortunately since then they have pushed the limits of their creativity and we never know where they are going to lead us.

Little Dark Age is their 4th, due shortly.

When You Die and Hand It Over are both on the album.

When You Die

Hand It Over

Matt & Kim

From Seattle to Athens, Orange County to Montreal, certain areas of North America morph into hotbeds of new exciting music. Currently it now appears to emanate from Brooklyn, NY. MGMT, The National, The Drums, Grizzly Bear and Dirty Projectors, only to name a few, all base themselves in this NYC borough. Matt & Kim, the duo of Matt Johnson (vocals, keyboards) and Kim Schifino (drums, vocals) are yet another Brooklyn-based band, perhaps best known for their award-winning video “Lessons Learned”. Their third album, Sidewalks, is coming out in November. “Cameras” is the first release from that album and is the Song of the Day.

[jwplayer mediaid=”4378″]

“Cameras” by Matt & Kim


“It’s Working” is the current featured track off of Congratulations the 2nd album from MGMT. (Both “Flash Delirium” and “Siberian Breaks” from the same album can be heard on earlier posts.) The song has also been completely remixed by the French band Air. Both versions are here as the Song of the Day.

“It’s Working”
[jwplayer mediaid=”4298″]

“It’s Working (Air Remix)”
[jwplayer mediaid=”12979″]

Oedipus Podcast #4: New Music (mostly) for the End of Winter

MGMT-“Flash Delirium”
David Byrne/Fat Boy Slim w/Santigold-“Please Don’t”
Massive Attack w/ Horace Andy-“Girl I Love You”
Frightened Rabbit-“Swin Until You Can’t See Land”
Peter Gabriel-“The Book of Love”
Peter Wolf-“The Night Comes Down (for Willy DeVille)”
Mink DeVille“Venus of Avenue D”
Nas & Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley-“As We Enter”
Hot Chip-“Thieves in the Night”


[jwplayer mediaid=”4085″]


Oedipus Podcast # 4 by Oedipus

© Copyright Oedipus 2021 | Sponsor The Oedipus Project | Designed by DI-WHY